#### CITY OF WOLVERHAMPTON COUNCIL

# **Extraordinary Council Meeting**

18 July 2018

Time 5.45 pm Public Meeting? YES Type of meeting Full Council

Venue Council Chamber - Civic Centre

Membership (Quorum for this meeting is 15 Councillors)

Mayor Cllr Phil Page (Lab)

Deputy Mayor Cllr Claire Darke (Lab)

#### Labour

Cllr Obaida Ahmed Cllr Ian Angus

Cllr Harbans Bagri Cllr Harman Banger

Clir Harman Banger Clir Mary Bateman

Cllr Philip Bateman MBE

Cllr Payal Bedi-Chadha Cllr Peter Bilson

Cllr Alan Bolshaw Cllr Greg Brackenridge

Cllr Ian Brookfield Cllr Paula Brookfield

Cllr Alan Butt

Cllr Craig Collingswood Cllr Jasbinder Dehar

Cllr Steve Evans

Cllr Val Evans

Cllr Bhupinder Gakhal

Cllr Val Gibson

Cllr Dr Michael Hardacre

Cllr Celia Hibbert Cllr Keith Inston

Cllr Jasbir Jaspal Cllr Milkinderpal Jaspal

Cllr Rupinderjit Kaur

Cllr Welcome Koussoukama

Cllr Roger Lawrence Cllr Linda Leach Cllr Hazel Malcolm Cllr Asha Mattu

Cllr Barbara McGarrity

Cllr Louise Miles

Cllr Beverley Momenabadi

Cllr Lynne Moran

Cllr Anwen Muston

Cllr Peter O'Neill

Cllr Rita Potter

Cllr John Reynolds Cllr Susan Roberts MBE

Cllr John Rowley

Cllr Zee Russell

Cllr Sandra Samuels OBE

Cllr Caroline Siarkiewicz Cllr Stephen Simkins

Clir Clare Simm

Cllr Mak Singh

Cllr Paul Sweet

Cllr Jacqueline Sweetman

Cllr Martin Waite

#### Conservative

Cllr Simon Bennett

**Cllr Christopher Havnes** 

Cllr Sohail Khan

Cllr Arun Photay

Cllr Paul Singh

Cllr Udey Singh

Cllr Jane Stevenson

Cllr Wendy Thompson

Cllr Jonathan Yardley

#### [NOT PROTECTIVELY MARKED]

#### Information for the Public

If you have any queries about this meeting, please contact the Democratic Services team:

**Contact** Jaswinder Kaur

**Tel/Email** 01902 550320 or jaswinder.kaur@wolverhampton.gov.uk Democratic Services, Civic Centre, 1st floor, St Peter's Square,

Wolverhampton WV1 1RL

Copies of other agendas and reports are available from:

Website <a href="http://wolverhampton.moderngov.co.uk">http://wolverhampton.moderngov.co.uk</a>

**Email** <u>democratic.services@wolverhampton.gov.uk</u>

**Tel** 01902 550320

Please take note of the protocol for filming, recording, and use of social media in meetings, copies of which are displayed in the meeting room.

# **Agenda**

Item No. Title

#### **MEETING BUSINESS ITEMS**

- 1 Apologies for absence
- 2 **Declarations of interest**

#### **DECISION ITEMS**

3 **Conferring the Title of Honorary Alderman** (Pages 5 - 8) [To confer the title of Honourary Alderman to former Councillors.]



Agenda Item No: 3

CITY OF WOLVERHAMPTON COUNCIL

# **Extraordinary Meeting of the City Council**

18 July 2018

Report title Conferring the Title of Honorary Alderman

Referring body Standards Committee

Councillor to present

report

Councillor Roger Lawrence

Wards affected All Wards

**Cabinet Member with lead** 

responsibility

Councillor Roger Lawrence, Leader

Accountable director Kevin O'Keefe, Director of Governance

Originating service Democratic Services

Accountable employee Jaswinder Kaur Democratic Services Manager

Tel 01902 550320

Email jaswinder.kaur@wolverhampton.gov.uk

Report to be/has been

considered by

Standards Committee 14 June 2018

#### Recommendation for decision:

The Council is recommended to:

1. Confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors Ian Claymore, Barry Findlay, Malcolm Gwinnett, Andrew Johnson, Christine Mills, Patricia Patten, Judith Rowley and Andrew Wynne.

### This report is PUBLIC [NOT PROTECTIVELY MARKED]

#### 1.0 Purpose

1.1 The purpose of this report is to recommend that Full Council Confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors Ian Claymore, Barry Findlay, Malcolm Gwinnett, Andrew Johnson, Christine Mills, Patricia Patten, Judith Rowley and Andrew Wynne.

#### 2.0 Background

- 2.1 On the 14 June 2018 Standards Committee considered a report on Conferring the Title of Honorary Alderman.
- 2.2 Copies of the report have been supplied to Councillors and can also be accessed online on the Council's website here.
- 2.3 Standards Committee recommended to Council that it:
  - Convene an extraordinary meeting of the Council on the 18 July 2018 to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors Ian Claymore, Barry Findlay, Malcolm Gwinnett, Andrew Johnson, Christine Mills, Patricia Patten, Judith Rowley, Tersaim Singh and Andrew Wynne.
- 2.4 Subsequently Tersaim Singh has advised that at present he does not wish to be considered for Honorary Alderman.

#### 3.0 Financial implications

The financial implications are detailed in the Standards Committee report of 14 June 2018.

#### 4.0 Legal implications

The legal implications are detailed in the Standards Committee report of 14 June 2018.

#### 5.0 Equalities implications

The equalities implications are detailed in the Standards Committee report of 14 June 2018.

#### 6.0 Environmental implications

The environmental implications are detailed in the Standards Committee report of 14 June 2018.

#### 7.0 Human resources implications

The human resources implications are detailed in the Standards Committee report of 14 June 2018.

## This report is PUBLIC [NOT PROTECTIVELY MARKED]

#### 8.0 Corporate Landlord implications

The Corporate Landlord implications are detailed in the Standards Committee report of 14 June 2018.

#### 9.0 Schedule of background papers

9.1 Standards Committee report – 14 June 2018

